Bringing back the names from the past – Te Whau

A new mural commissioned by the club to highlight the Whau landscape in the Avondale area, has been completed by Ross Liew.

This vibrant streetscape fronting Ash Street from the Old Public Stand combines the traditional name “Avondale” with “Te Whau”, named for the whau tree found in the area and featuring a river known previously as a plentiful source of food.

The Avondale Racecourse land has been a significant part of the Whau landscape for over 100 years. It has been the home of the Avondale Jockey Club since its first meeting in April 1890.

In 1915 the course was used as a staging and training ground for the first Māori contingent of soldiers to serve New Zealand. It was also used as a hospital facility during the 1918 influenza pandemic. These days it hosts a variety of activities besides race meets with the Avondale Sunday Markets attracting thousands of people to this area of the site every Sunday.

Commenting last weekend, when his work was completed and the brushes laid to rest, Ross Liew said “This piece acknowledges the local area that hosts the racecourse through the inclusion of two names. Te Whau, named for the whau tree found in the area; and Avondale, as it is now called. The two names are overlaid within the mural, with the Whau river represented by a snaking stroke that passes from left to right running through the middle of the names.”

Artist credit:  TrustMe, @mroscarlow – For more information contact Ross on 021 335 774 – Managing Director – Trustme Ltd.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on email
Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *