Avondale Jockey Club



Avondale Jockey Club

The Avondale Jockey Club (AJC) dates back to 1889 when racing was held on a rudimentary track built on the farm of Moss Davis (1847 – 1933).

As racing became more popular, AJC upgraded the track and Avondale Racecourse is now recognised as one of New Zealand’s highest quality and most consistent turf courses. 

Initially established as a membership group for horse owners and trainers AJC held regular race meetings, which were highlights of the social calendar. Over the years, the crowds in the grandstands have been replaced by a much broader TV, radio and online audience, with people around the world following live racing via Sky Racing World and TAB Trackside.

Today, Avondale Jockey Club is managed by a dedicated team who provide governance and management to support, develop and continue to grow the sport of racing at Avondale


Club President 

Tracey Berkahn

Vice President

Daniel Higgins

Hon Treasurer

Leeann Martin


Hon Secretary

Manny Boyack


Allan Boyle
Warwick Donaldson
Jan McLeod
Chris Ryan
Jan Skinner

Club Stewards

Gary Jenkins

Terry Skinner

Warren Strand

Denise West

General Manager

Manny Boyack

Email: mannyb@ajc.co.nz

Phone: 027 537 2990


Members of Avondale Jockey Club have access to a range of benefits and privileges as well as full voting rights, so you can have a voice as to how racing is conducted at Avondale Racecourse. You also receive reciprocal privileges with a number of other clubs.

Our membership season runs from 1 August to 31 July the following year.

Standard Membership: $65 per season
Senior Membership (aged 65 years and over): $48 per season
25+years Continuous Membership: $32.50 per season

For more information please contact Manny Boyack – General Manager

Email: mannyb@ajc.co.nz
Phone: 027 537 2990


Life Members

The following Avondale Jockey Club members have been awarded Life Membership in recognition of their continued and valuable contributions to the Club. We are honoured to have their ongoing support and involvement with the Club.

Eddie Doherty
Thayne Green
Colin Jillings
Robyn McElroy
Jan McLeod
Jim Patterson
Stephen Penney
Chris Ryan
Jan Skinner
Graham Wakefield

Club History

Avondale Jockey Club has played a significant role in Auckland’s history as well as the thoroughbred racing industry in New Zealand.

Avondale Racecourse was originally established in the 1880s on farmland on the outskirts of Auckland, owned by Moss Davis. Moss was an avid horse racer and encouraged by the growth of Auckland’s population and the potential to attract crowds to the area, he built a flat, egg shaped track that was nearly a mile long with a 380 yard straight.

Avondale Trophy Winners

The Avondale Cup was run at Avondale every year from 1890 to 2015. It was the most prestigious race on the Avondale racing calendar and attracted the best horses and jockeys from across the Upper North Island. Avondale Cup winners are in an elite group.

The Avondale Guineas started in 1971 and ran every year until 2015 (with the exception of 1989 and 1990).

AJC Presidents

The current AJC President is Tracey Berkahn.  Tracey was elected President in 2020.

The current Vice President is Daniel Higgins.


Below are the links to the 6 most recent AJC Annual Reports. Please contact us if you wish to view reports from previous years.